Rokkurro - Innra

  • Sale
  • Regular price € 27.90

Rökkurró - Innra

Innra proceeds the internationally acclaimed Í Annan Heim record which spent 100 weeks in the Icelandic chart's Top 30 while international it garnered high praise from media such as NME, Clash, The Line of Best Fit, CMU Daily and the US' KEXP Radio.

The three year gap between the two albums gave Rökkurró the space to meticulously expand their luscious pale[e into the beautiful, dreamy soundscapes that is Innra. New members Helga on piano and Skúli on bass have been added to the line-up and time spent by the bands members between Tokyo, London and Reykjavík inspired Rökkurró to record their first part-English speaking record.

The first taster from Innra came in the form of English-speaking album track Killing Time, which premiered on The Line of Best Fit and featured on The Guardian's blog late 2013, with the later describing the song as "warm, wonderfully textured number that finds stuttering rhythms judder underneath swelling instrumentals while the vocal's unshakable sense of longing will lingers well after the song has finished." The description is befitting for the album as a whole. The album's second single, The Backbone yielded an US premiere on Under The Radar and a prominent feature on Q Magazine in UK.

There's a new electronic element to Rökkurró's ,but one of sod synths mixed with gently textured, layered percussion. The result is a warm enveloping backdrop to singer Stefánsdóttir's sod and at times subtly sultry vocals.

Produced by Helgi Hrafn Jónsson, Innra is self-released on 27th October 2014 on CD, Vinyl and Digitally.

Some praise for Rökkurró:
"Warm, wonderfully textured" – Lauren Down on The Guadian
"Graceful and passionate, emotive and poignant" – Gold Flake Paint
"Inviting like a thermal spring" - NME
"Haunting" – Nothing But Hope And Passsion
"High-quality melancholy" – NOISEY Germany
"Beautiful orchestral sounds" - KEXP Radio

Track List:
1. Rökkurró - Borders
2. Rökkurró - Weightless
3. Rökkurró - Sigling
4. Rökkurró - Killing Time
5. Rökkurró - The Backbone
6. Rökkurró - White Mountain
7. Rökkurró - The In Between
8. Rökkurró - Flugdrekar
9. Rökkurró - Blue Skies
10. Rökkurró - Hunger
11. Rökkurró - Red Sun