Dimma - Velrád (CD)

  • Sale
  • Regular price € 27.90

Dimma - Vélráð

DIMMA is comprised of four hardrockers from Iceland; Stefan Jakobsson (lead vocals), Ingo Geirdal (guitar), Silli Geirdal (bass) and Birgir Jonsson (drums).

The brainchild of brothers Ingo & Silli Geirdal, DIMMA was founded in late 2004 from the ruins of their old band Stripshow. Stripshow released their first and only album in 1996; a rock-opera called Late-Nite Cult Show which was later released in Japan and South Korea and subsequently banned by the Korean government for ”immoral” lyrics and message. This achievement brought the band a certain infamy which reached the ears of original Alice Cooper bandmembers Dennis Dunaway, Neal Smith & Michael Bruce who invited the Geirdal brothers to play with them at various concerts and events across the USA. This again lead to Ingo & Silli producing and playing with Michael Bruce and Dennis Dunaway on various albums released worldwide.

Inspired by the dark, hard, cold winters of Iceland, DIMMA set out to write and record an album which, like the winters in Iceland, was dark and hard with perhaps more than a bit of chilling musical melancholia creeping from the band‘s hard rock sound. The bands debut opus; DIMMA brought the band their first local radio hit "Big Bad Mama” around the time of the albums release in 2005 and earned DIMMA the honor to open for the legendary Alice Cooper, who was impressed with the bands powerful music and energetic stagepresence.

In the spring of 2011, DIMMA began a new and exciting phase of their musical carreer as energetic leadsinger/frontman Stefan Jakobsson and powerhouse drummer Birgir Jonsson joined forces with brothers Silli and Ingo Geirdal to take DIMMA to new heights, both musically as well as visually on stage. A new EP DOGMA, featuring "Þungur Kross” (the DIMMA´s first song sung completely in their native language) along with energetic live recordings of band favorites from the two previous albums, gave fans a taste of what to expect in the future.


01 Vélráð
02 Kviksyndi
03 Andsetinn
04 Ljósbrá
05 Um dimman dal
06 Illur arfur
07 Ég brenn
08 Djúpið
09 Lokaorð